What’s Wrong with the Drugstore?

paul mitchell

I love the drugstore and it’s aisles of haircare products. I love to go there and open the bottles and sqeeze them just enough to sample the scent of coconut…the aroma of rose hips. I have used a plethora of shampoos and conditioners on my hair, always choosing the mousturizing formulas, never buying the salon brands. Of course, I enjoy the shampoo at the salon and the fresh smell of the conditioners, but it’s just too expensive for me.

While sitting in the salon chair, getting my hair chopped off, the subject of salon brand hair products came up between the stylists.

Young One- No one will buy our products, not with the economy.

Old One-Yeah, they go to Wal Mart and buy them. But, they don’t know that they’re (the product) crap!

Young One-I know! They “fell off the truck” and sometimes they just bottle anything and then the customer thinks it’s the real thing!

They continued to talk about how all of the Pantene commercials are lies, and that Pantene does nothing for your hair. Personally, I use Herbal Essences.

Well, I was quite silent, because I am a user of this “crap.”

So, is this true? Do the general stores really rip us off with fake salon products? Are salon products that different than regular brands?

To answer the first question, I did some research, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t know what the answer is. Most who have this problem on their minds talk about Paul Mitchell brand.

There was a heated argument that made me giggle like a kindergartner on The Beauty Brains article Are salon products in regular stores the same as those in salons–According to the Beauty Brains, Paul Mitchell likes the drugstore because it boosts his sales. He just pretends nothing is going on. But if you look at the flyer on top of this post, there is a different story. Salons furiously defend their products and condemn the “salon” brands at Wal-Mart and supermarkets saying they dilute the product with water and harmful chemicals. The Beauty Brains says this just isn’t true.  Who do you believe?

Of course, it would be nicer if everyone purchased their hair products at salons to keep small businesses afloat, but it’s cheaper to buy them at general stores.

Now, for the second question…I compared conditioning treatments because if any brand was to perform, I think it would be with the deep contitioners. I was going to compare Paul Mitchell with Pantene Pro-V Deep Moisturizing Treatment but when I saw Pantene’s ingredients, I was very disappointed. It may make your hair soft, if it is fine and oily, because it didn’t have enough moisturizer for dry hair. In my opinion.

Garnier Fructis: Fortifying Deep Conditioner-3 minute masque

Ingredients: Saccharum Officiarum (Sugar Cane) Extract–hydrates

 Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride– Antimicrobial

 Cetrimonium Chloride-smoothing, anti-static

Cetearyl Alcohol-smoothing, anti-static

Bentrimonium Chloride-anti-static, antimicrobial

PEG-180– Humectant

Amodimethicone-Selective conditioning

Cetyl Esters-Thickener

Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract-Hair growth

Methylparaben-Antifungal (preservative)

Hydroxyethylcellulose-Thickening agent

Niacinamide-good for acne (?)

Pyridoxine HCl-Moisturizer

Citric Acid-cleanser (can strip hair of moisture)

Trideceth-12-prevents build-up

Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract-Astringent

Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract F.I.L. D2669/1-Nutrients

Paul Mitchell-Super-Charged Moisturizer

Ingredients: Cetyl Alcohol-Lubricant used for consistency

Stearyl Alcohol-Smoother, thickener

Hydrolyzed Soy Protein-Adds shine, detangles

Stearalkonium Chloride-Anti-static

Bisamino PEG/PPG-41/3 Aminoethyl PG-Propyl Dimethicone-Conditioner

Hedychium Coronarium (White Ginger)– aka awapuhi, moisturizer

PEG-12 Dimethicone-smoothing

Panthenol-moisturizer

Tocopheryl Acetate-aka Vitamin E Acetate, uv protection, moisturizer

 Bisamino PEG/PPG-41/3 Aminoethyl PG Propyl Dimethicone-conditioner

Algae-Lots of Protein

Aloe Barbadensis Leaf -moisuturizer

Anthemis Nobilis-aka Chamomile, adds luster and smells pretty

Lawsonia Inermis (Henna)-enhances color, conditioner

Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba)-Conditioner

Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary)-Enhances color, conditioner

PEG-12 Dimethicone-smoothing

Lecithin– Paul Mitchell is cruelty free so I guess this is plant derived?-hair growth, smoothing

Glycerin-absorbs moisture

Wheatgermamidopropyl Ethyldimonium Ethosulfate-haven’t a clue

Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride-smoothing

Cetearyl Alcohol-smoothing, anti-static

Ceteareth-20-emulsifier

Citric Acid-cleanser (can strip hair of moisture)

DMDM Hydantoin-preservative

Iodopropynyl Butylcarbarnate-preservative

Right off the bat, I could see that there are a lot more ingredients in the Paul Mitchell brand. That doesn’t make it better! There are a lot of “cones” in the Paul Mitchell brand. Cones are notorious for causing build-up, but these cones have “PEG” in them, which fixes that problem.

Paul Mitchell wins in my book.

I will use both of these products in the future and see how my hair turns out!

I am glad I did this just for myself. I think that I should do this for everything I consume. Why not? We should all care about what we put in/on our bodies. I’ll have to wait and see if I do it. The research will keep me busy!

Leave a comment